KIMA Trophy

Val Masino, Sondio - Italy

August 26th, 2018

5th Sky Extra race of the Migu Run Skyrunner World Series.

For more than 20 years, the Kima Trophy is a top event for skyrunners, thanks to its 52 km of extremely technical course, which runs in seven steps for a total of 8,400m of overall height difference. Moraines, snowfields and exposed ridges are present along the entire track which, at key points, is equipped with fixed ropes for the safety of runners. Since 2008, the event has been biennial, won in the last edition 2016 by the Nepalese Bhim Gurung, able to improve the previous record of Kilian Jornet in 6h10'44 ", and by Emelie Forsberg. The female record to beat remains that of the Spanish Nuria Picas winner in 2012 with a time of 7h36'21 ". Icon of skyrunning since 1995, the race recalls the best international runners and is one of the key events of the 2018 season of the Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series in the Sky Extra category, valid for a bonus of 50% extra points.

The Path:

The start is from Filorera (870m), Val di Predarossa, Rifugio Ponti, Passo Cameraccio, Passo Torrone, Rifugio Allievi-Bonacossa, Passo Averta, Passo Qualido, Passo Camerozzo, Rifugio Gianetti, Passo Barbacane, Rifugio Omio, Bagni di Masino, Piana di Bregolana, San Martino e arrivo a Filorera (870m).

52 km, 4200m elevation gain and crossing seven steps all above 2500m; maximum altitude step Cameraccio 2950m (flying finish line).

Top 5 women

No records for women. The time to beat remains 7h36'21" marked by the Spanish Nuria Picas in 2016. With the long-awaited Swedish Emelie Forsberg out of the game for a non-optimal physical form that led her to raise the white flag, the race has been lived on continuous reversals of fronts. On the first descent towards Bocchetta Roma, Ragna Debats has tried to make the difference. In the high altitude crossing the Italian American Hilary Gerardi has however grafted the reduced. At the end, the South African Robyn Owen tried to establish her leadership, but Gerardi came back in arrogance and won in 7h37'29 ". Second place for Owen in 7h39'01 ", while third was the Nepalese Mira Rai that at the end of an amazing comeback ended in 7h41'46". The American Brittany Petterson and the Italian Martina Valmassoi follow in the order.

Hillary Gerardi

Hilary Gerardi (7h37’29”)

Robyn Owen

Robyn Owen (7h39’01”)

Mira Rai

Mira Rai (7h41’46”)

Brittany Peterson

Brittany Peterson (8h01’46”)

Martina Valmassoi

Martina Valmassoi (8h04’53”)

Top 5 men

Kilian Jornet

Kilian Jornet (6h09’19”)

Alexis Sévennec (6h11’59”)

Alexis Sévennec (6h11’59”)

Pere Aurell Bove

Pere Aurell Bove (6h20’50”)

André Jonsson

André Jonsson (6h25’52”)

Leo viret

Leo Viret (6h29’44”)