Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series

2019 Elite Skyrunners

It’s almost the start of the new season and excitement within the Skyrunning community is growing. Elite Skyrunners are ready to compete on the highly technical courses of the most prestigious Skyraces around the world.

The 2019 season of the Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series is right around the corner. Kicking things off on April 21st is the brand-new Mt Awa Skyrace in the Japanese alps, followed by a high-altitude stop at the now-famous Yading Skyrun (CHN).

With over 90 elite Skyrunners from 21 different countries having already confirmed their participation in the season, the quality of competition throughout the year is guaranteed to be at an all-time high. 52 men and 33 women ranked in the 52-week ranking will compete in at least four races of the upcoming calendar.

Tromsø Skyrace, Norway, 2018. ©DavidGonthier 2019 Elite Skyrunners Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series

Tromsø Skyrace, Norway, 2018. ©DavidGonthier

After the announcement of 6 new skyraces, many of our past champions are thrilled about the upcoming year. With both male and female winner of the 2018 Classic Series taking their place behind the starting line in Japan, it’s looking likely to be a fierce season from the word go.

“My first destination will be in Japan. Usually the Japanese runners come to Europe, so it’s good to change sides this time.” Says Pascal Egli (SUI) Team Dynafit, winner of the 2018 Classic Series.

With a Classic Series win already under his belt, Egli has his sights set on the podium once again. “One race that can be really defining for my season is Livigno Skymarathon, I would finally like to win there.”

Egli will face some tough competition in Livigno as he will be up against the 2018 defending champion Petter Engdahl (SWE) of Team Salomon, who also placed second in the 2018 overall ranking. Engdahl will be hoping to perform his best at each race in order to qualify for the Sky Masters.

Pere Aurell (ESP) Team Merrell, winner of the 2018 Transvulcania, is also aiming to qualify for the Sky Masters. With 7 races ahead of him, including Transvulcania, where he won last year, it’s going to be a challenging season for the athlete.

Transvulcania, Isla La Palma, Spain, 2018. ©AlexDiaz 2019 Elite Skyrunners Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series

Transvulcania, Isla La Palma, Spain, 2018. ©AlexDiaz

And it’s the same level of competition for the girls. Holly Page (GBR) Team Adidas Terrex, female winner of the 2018 Classic Series, has also chosen Japan as her first destination of the season. “This year I am looking forward to exploring Japan with the friends I have made on the Skyrunning circuit. Someone who is happy to throw themselves down a steep rocky descent is the sort of person I like to hang out with.”

Page will be competing against by the winner of the 2017 Classic Series, Sheila Avilés (ESP) Team Adidas Terrex, in Japan who is “looking forward to another awesome year of Skyrunning”. As well as Mt Awa, Avilés will also be tackling the Matterhorn Ultraks “Extreme” and Buff Epic Trail before closing her season with ZacUP and Sky Pirineu.

Ridgerunning, via ferrate, snowfields and scrambling – there is no shortage of technical races this season. World-class athletes including Zaid Ait Malek (MAR) Team Buff and Sanna El Kott (SWE) Team Gore/Merrell, have all expressed their excitement at the truly amazing running that the mountain race calendar has to offer.

“This year I am really delighted to go back to Tromsø and to run for the very first time an iconic race like Olympus Marathon. If I had to highlight another race I’d go for Matterhorn Ultraks “Extreme” because I like this crazy stuff, these technical and beautiful races that can’t be compared with anything else.” Says Ait Malek.

In 2019, all results are counting for the same ranking. The calendar is made up of 15 sky races across 11 countries. Four of those races have the status of SuperSky Race, rewarding twice the points. The season will end at the Sky Masters on October 19th, an event reserved only for the best Skyrunner in the World. The venue of this final race will be announced soon.

Official web site: www.skyrunnerworldseries.com
Calendar: 2019 Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series

List of Athletes


Pere Aurell ESP Merrell

Petter Engdahl SWE Salomon/Sportsgym SC

Pascal Egli SUI Dynafit

Dmitry Mityaev RUS Adidas Terrex

Marc Casal Mir AND Team Andorra (FAM)

Oscar Casal Mir AND Team Andorra (FAM)

Andre Jonsson SWE Sportsgym/Peak Performance

Marc Pinsach Rubirola ESP Dynafit

Jonathan Albon GBR VJ Shoes / Gore


Ander Iñarra ESP Euskal Herria EMF

Alejandro Forcades ESP Berg Outdoor - Federació Balear

Cody Lind USA Scott Running

Marco DeGasperi ITA Hoka One One / Compressport

Zaid Ait Malek ESP TBA

Javier Rodriguez Bodas ESP Prozis Athletes

Gerard Espano Aniceto ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Aitziber Ibarbia Beloki ESP Euskal Herria EMF

Kiril Nikolov BUL XCoSports

Alfredo Gil Garcia ESP Prozis Athletes

Ruy Ueda JAP Columbia Montrail

Albert Pujol Garcia ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Sebastian Ljungdahl SWE Salming

Leo Viret FRA

Beñat Marmissolle FRA Aviron Bayonnais / Orhi Mendi Taldea

Eduard Hernandez Teixidor ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Beñat Katarain ESP Prozis Athletes

Pol Rodriguez Salvador ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Thibaut Garrivier FRA Hoka One One

Mathieu Delpeuch FRA Team Asics Trail / Baouw

Manuel Anguita Bayo ESP Prozis Athletes

Jonatan Mora Tribaldo ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Raul Butaci ESP Uglow Spain


Johannes Klein GER Adidas Terrex

Kim Collison GBR Raidlight

Mario Olmedo Sancha ESP Berg Outdoor

David Prades Monfort ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Hannes Namberger GER Dynafit


Moises Jimenez VEN Vert Run

Ryan Carr NZL Dynafit

Weston Hill NZL Altra Compressport

Michel Lanne FRA Team Salomon

Asier Alonso ESP Euskal Herria EMF

Istvan Gyorgy Szabolcs ROU Fubyshop

Julen Martinez de Estibariz ESP Euskal Herria EMF

Max Keith CHI Vert Run

Sintu Vives AND Team Andorra (FAM)

Andreu Simon Aymerich ESP Buff Pro Team

Iban Letamendi ESP Euskal Herria EMF

Diego Arroyo Mazorra ESP AE Matxacuca

Jordi Alís Sánchez ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Pablo Villa ESP Nike Trailrunning / Wild Trail Project New

Fabien Antolinos FRA Mizuno New

Christoph Lauterbach GER Adidas Terrex New

Ricky Lightfoot GBR Team Salomon New


Ragna Debats NED Merrell

Holly Page GBR Adidas Terrex

Hillary Gerardi USA Scarpa/ Black Diamond

Lina El Kott Helander SWE Gore/Merrell/Sportsgym

Brittany Peterson USA Nike Trailrunning

Sheila Avilés castaño ESP Adidas Terrex

Sanna El Kott Helander SWE Gore/Merrell/Sportsgym

Ekaterina Mityaeva RUS Adidas Terrex

Ohiana Azkorbebeitia ESP Euskal Herria EMF

Emily Hawgood ZIM Gauge 20 Running / SCOTT

Montse Martinez Guerrero ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Virginia Perez Mesonero ESP Berg Outdoor

Elisa Desco ITA Berg Outdoor/Scarpa

Laia Andreu Trias ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Antoniya Grigorova BUL XCoSports

Ingrid Mutter ROU Compressport

Robyn Owen RSA Salomon

Nuria Domínguez ESP Tuga

Silvia Puigarnau ESP AE Matxacuca

Mayi Mujika ESP Euskal Herria EMF

Ángela Castelló Noria ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Katie Kaars Sijpesteijn GBR Team Salomon

Natalia Roman Lopez ESP Trail-maniacs.ch

Georgia Tindley GBR

Adriana Vanesa Vargas ARG Salomon Argentina

Claudia Sabata Font ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Megan Kimmel USA Salomon Team

Eli Bertran Massanes ESP AE Matxacuca

Gisela Carrion Bertran ESP Selecció Catalana - FEEC

Daniela Rota ITA La Sportiva

Maria Zorroza ESP Euskal Herria EMF

Anne-Lise Rousset FRA Oxsitis-Odlo

Nancy Jiang NZL Altra Compresport New

Hillary Allen USA The North Face New

Kristina Pattison USA LA Sportiva New

Official web site: www.skyrunnerworldseries.com
Calendar: 2019 Migu Run Skyrunner® World Series